GPU comparison
Trainium2 vs Trainium3: specs and rental prices
AWS Trainium2 (Trn2) against AWS Trainium3 (Trn3): 96 GB against 144 GB of memory. Specs from AWS, prices as of Oct 29, 2026.
In short
- The Trainium3 lists 144 GB of GPU memory against 96 GB for the Trainium2: 1.5× higher.
- Memory type is HBM3 on the Trainium2 and HBM3e on the Trainium3.
- The Trainium3 lists 4,900 GB/s of memory bandwidth against 2,875 GB/s (derived) for the Trainium2: 1.7× higher.
- Not every figure can be compared: at least one vendor page does not publish: FP16 / BF16 tensor throughput; TF32 tensor throughput; FP64 throughput; Maximum power; GPU-to-GPU interconnect.
- Neither GPU has a fresh on-demand rental listing right now.
This summary is generated from the tables below. Prices were last checked Oct 29, 2026. A listing not re-checked for 7 days is greyed and left out of every lowest-price figure; after 14 days it is removed from the page.
Specifications side by side
| Specification | Trainium2 (Trn2) | Trainium3 (Trn3) | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| GPU memory | 96 GB | 144 GB | Trainium3 1.5× higher |
| Memory type | HBM3 | HBM3e | Different |
| Memory bandwidth | 2,875 GB/s (derived) | 4,900 GB/s | Trainium3 1.7× higher |
| FP8 tensor throughput | 1,300 TFLOPS (basis not stated) (derived) | 2,520 TFLOPS (basis not stated) | Not compared: the vendors state the figures on different bases |
Compared versions: Trainium2 (Trn2) and Trainium3 (Trn3). The figure in the stronger cell is shaded; power is shown without a winner. Two throughput figures are compared only when both vendors state them on the same basis (both with sparsity, or both dense), and “derived” means a total the vendor publishes divided by the GPU count it publishes. Full tables with sources: Trainium2 specifications · Trainium3 specifications.
Rental prices
| Rental price | Trainium2 | Trainium3 | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| Lowest listed on-demand price | No fresh listing | No fresh listing | — |
| Lowest listed spot price | No fresh listing | No fresh listing | — |
| Price per GB of memory | Not available | Not available | — |
| Fresh listings | 0 from 0 providers | 0 from 0 providers | — |
Prices cover every version and instance size the providers list, so they are not tied to the versions compared above; the price per GB of memory divides the lowest fresh on-demand price by the memory of the compared version. Listed prices are not like for like across providers. See every listing: Trainium2 prices · Trainium3 prices.
More on these GPUs
Cite this page
Last updated Oct 29, 2026. Figures may change as records are updated — include the date you retrieved them.
| APA | Data Center Census. (2026). Trainium2 vs Trainium3. Retrieved from https://datacentercensus.com/gpu-prices/compare/trainium2-vs-trainium3 |
|---|---|
| MLA | “Trainium2 vs Trainium3.” Data Center Census, Oct 29, 2026, https://datacentercensus.com/gpu-prices/compare/trainium2-vs-trainium3. |
| Link | https://datacentercensus.com/gpu-prices/compare/trainium2-vs-trainium3 |
Republishing a figure or table? Attribute it to Data Center Census with a link to this page. The underlying data is downloadable as JSON and CSV; the press kit has standing figures and contact details.