GPU comparison
Trainium1 vs Trainium2: specs and rental prices
AWS Trainium (Trn1) against AWS Trainium2 (Trn2): 32 GB against 96 GB of memory. Specs from AWS, prices as of Oct 29, 2026.
In short
- The Trainium2 lists 96 GB of GPU memory against 32 GB for the Trainium1: 3× higher.
- Memory type is HBM on the Trainium1 and HBM3 on the Trainium2.
- The Trainium2 lists 2,875 GB/s (derived) of memory bandwidth against 612.5 GB/s (derived) for the Trainium1: 4.69× higher.
- Not every figure can be compared: at least one vendor page does not publish: FP8 tensor throughput; FP16 / BF16 tensor throughput; TF32 tensor throughput; FP64 throughput; Maximum power; GPU-to-GPU interconnect.
- Only the Trainium1 has a fresh on-demand listing ($1.34 per chip-hour at AWS); the Trainium2 has none right now.
This summary is generated from the tables below. Prices were last checked Oct 29, 2026. A listing not re-checked for 7 days is greyed and left out of every lowest-price figure; after 14 days it is removed from the page.
Specifications side by side
| Specification | Trainium1 Trainium (Trn1) | Trainium2 (Trn2) | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| GPU memory | 32 GB | 96 GB | Trainium2 3× higher |
| Memory type | HBM | HBM3 | Different |
| Memory bandwidth | 612.5 GB/s (derived) | 2,875 GB/s (derived) | Trainium2 4.69× higher |
| FP8 tensor throughput | Not published | 1,300 TFLOPS (basis not stated) (derived) | — |
| FP16 / BF16 tensor throughput | 187.5 TFLOPS (basis not stated) (derived) | Not published | — |
| GPU-to-GPU interconnect | 768 GB/s | Not published | — |
Compared versions: Trainium1 Trainium (Trn1) and Trainium2 (Trn2). The figure in the stronger cell is shaded; power is shown without a winner. Two throughput figures are compared only when both vendors state them on the same basis (both with sparsity, or both dense), and “derived” means a total the vendor publishes divided by the GPU count it publishes. Full tables with sources: Trainium1 specifications · Trainium2 specifications.
Rental prices
| Rental price | Trainium1 | Trainium2 | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| Lowest listed on-demand price | $1.34 per chip-hour · AWS · checked Oct 29, 2026 | No fresh listing | — |
| Lowest listed spot price | No fresh listing | No fresh listing | — |
| Price per GB of memory | $0.042 per GB of GPU memory per hour | Not available | — |
| Fresh listings | 2 from 1 providers | 0 from 0 providers | — |
Prices cover every version and instance size the providers list, so they are not tied to the versions compared above; the price per GB of memory divides the lowest fresh on-demand price by the memory of the compared version. Listed prices are not like for like across providers. See every listing: Trainium1 prices · Trainium2 prices.
More on these GPUs
Cite this page
Last updated Oct 29, 2026. Figures may change as records are updated — include the date you retrieved them.
| APA | Data Center Census. (2026). Trainium1 vs Trainium2. Retrieved from https://datacentercensus.com/gpu-prices/compare/trainium1-vs-trainium2 |
|---|---|
| MLA | “Trainium1 vs Trainium2.” Data Center Census, Oct 29, 2026, https://datacentercensus.com/gpu-prices/compare/trainium1-vs-trainium2. |
| Link | https://datacentercensus.com/gpu-prices/compare/trainium1-vs-trainium2 |
Republishing a figure or table? Attribute it to Data Center Census with a link to this page. The underlying data is downloadable as JSON and CSV; the press kit has standing figures and contact details.