Data Center Census Near me

GPU comparison

TPU v5e vs TPU v5p: specs and rental prices

Google Cloud TPU v5e against Google Cloud TPU v5p: 16 GB against 95 GiB of memory, lowest listed on-demand price $1.20 against $4.20 per chip-hour. Specs from Google, prices as of Oct 29, 2026.

In short

  • Memory type is HBM on the TPU v5e and HBM on the TPU v5p.
  • Not every figure can be compared: at least one vendor page does not publish: FP8 tensor throughput; TF32 tensor throughput; FP64 throughput; Maximum power.
  • The lowest listed on-demand price is $1.20 per chip-hour for the TPU v5e (Google Cloud) and $4.20 per chip-hour for the TPU v5p (Google Cloud).

This summary is generated from the tables below. Prices were last checked Oct 29, 2026. A listing not re-checked for 7 days is greyed and left out of every lowest-price figure; after 14 days it is removed from the page.

Specifications side by side

SpecificationTPU v5eTPU v5pDifference
GPU memory16 GB95 GiB—
Memory typeHBMHBMSame
Memory bandwidth800 GiB/s2,765 GB/s—
FP8 tensor throughputNot published459 TFLOPS (basis not stated)—
FP16 / BF16 tensor throughput197 TFLOPS (basis not stated)459 TFLOPS (basis not stated)Not compared: the vendors state the figures on different bases
GPU-to-GPU interconnect400 GB/s1,200 GB/sTPU v5p 3× higher

Compared versions: TPU v5e and TPU v5p. The figure in the stronger cell is shaded; power is shown without a winner. Two throughput figures are compared only when both vendors state them on the same basis (both with sparsity, or both dense), and “derived” means a total the vendor publishes divided by the GPU count it publishes. Full tables with sources: TPU v5e specifications · TPU v5p specifications.

Rental prices

Rental priceTPU v5eTPU v5pDifference
Lowest listed on-demand price$1.20 per chip-hour · Google Cloud · checked Oct 29, 2026$4.20 per chip-hour · Google Cloud · checked Oct 29, 2026TPU v5p 3.5× higher
Lowest listed spot priceNo fresh listingNo fresh listing—
Price per GB of memory$0.075 per GB of GPU memory per hourNot available—
Fresh listings10 from 1 providers4 from 1 providers—

Prices cover every version and instance size the providers list, so they are not tied to the versions compared above; the price per GB of memory divides the lowest fresh on-demand price by the memory of the compared version. Listed prices are not like for like across providers. See every listing: TPU v5e prices · TPU v5p prices.

More on these GPUs

Cite this page

Last updated Oct 29, 2026. Figures may change as records are updated — include the date you retrieved them.

APAData Center Census. (2026). TPU v5e vs TPU v5p. Retrieved from https://datacentercensus.com/gpu-prices/compare/tpu-v5e-vs-tpu-v5p
MLA“TPU v5e vs TPU v5p.” Data Center Census, Oct 29, 2026, https://datacentercensus.com/gpu-prices/compare/tpu-v5e-vs-tpu-v5p.
Linkhttps://datacentercensus.com/gpu-prices/compare/tpu-v5e-vs-tpu-v5p

Republishing a figure or table? Attribute it to Data Center Census with a link to this page. The underlying data is downloadable as JSON and CSV; the press kit has standing figures and contact details.