Kenwood Commons
Albany, Albany County, NY
Also known as Kenwood Tech Center
- Rumored
- Proposed
- Approved
- Under construction
- Operating
Follow this project
New dated changes arrive in your feed reader or calendar. No account, no email address, no tracking.
- RSS feed for any feed reader
- Atom feed
- Hearings calendar (.ics, subscribes in Apple, Google or Outlook Calendar)
Guild Ventures, a subsidiary of EKG, is pitching a data center as one piece of a mixed-use redevelopment called Kenwood Commons on the vacant former Doane Stuart School property in Albany's South End. The developers say they have not filed formal applications and do not yet know the facility's megawatt need, while residents' groups, who cite a 180 MW figure, have held forums opposing it.
- Site size
- 76 acres
- size of the former Doane Stuart School site
Key facts
Size & schedule
| Site size | 76 acres [1] size of the former Doane Stuart School site |
|---|---|
| Floor area | 250,000 sq ft [2] data center building, as described by the developers at an August 2026 community meeting |
| Permanent jobs (promised) | 125 to 175 full-time jobs at the data center (about 500 full-time-equivalent jobs for the whole development) [2] developer figures |
| Target completion | December 2028 [2] proposed date for the data center to come online Source excerpt“EKG is proposing putting their data center online in December 2028.” |
How big is that? Data center sizes compared with football fields and Central Park.
Water
| Cooling | air-cooled [2] developers say it will not need large amounts of water |
|---|
Figures are as stated by the cited source. Where sources disagree, each figure is shown.
Water and power
Water
Not disclosed. No source reviewed gives a water figure for this site. The Census does not estimate one.
Power
Not disclosed. No capacity or power-supply figure is on the record.
Disclosed figures only, each as the cited source states it. Many are projections or permit limits, not metered use. How data center water and power use is measured, and every disclosed figure →
Timeline
Albany County Executive Dan McCoy says the county has no control over the site and calls for a cost-benefit analysis of the proposal [1]
Developers hold a community meeting and say no formal applications or proposals have been submitted yet [2]
Residents and invited experts hold a public forum on the proposal's effect on electric bills and the grid; no government vote is scheduled in the coverage [3]
Issues raised
- Speakers at the October forum said the project would raise electricity bills and strain the grid; they cited a 180 MW request, which the station did not confirm [3]
- Developers said in August that they did not yet know how many megawatts the facility would need [2]
- The Mount Hope Neighborhood Association opposes any data center near residential areas, and residents say the South End would bear a disproportionate share of impacts [3]
- Guild Ventures says it expects limited water use and protections for ratepayers [3]
- A New York executive order pauses state environmental permits for data centers over 50 MW until July 2027 [2]
Issues are concerns and claims raised by the parties, officials or residents named in the cited sources. They are reported as attributed, not as findings by the Census.
Sources
- Albany Co. exec says county doesn't control proposed data centerSpectrum News · May 28, 2026 · news
- Kenwood data center developers try to assuage community concernsWAMC · Aug 6, 2026 · news
- Albany residents hear experts on Kenwood Commons data center's community impactWRGB CBS6 Albany · Oct 19, 2026 · news
Cite this page
Last updated Oct 21, 2026. Figures may change as records are updated — include the date you retrieved them.
| APA | Data Center Census. (2026). Kenwood Commons. Retrieved from https://datacentercensus.com/dc/kenwood-commons-albany-ny |
|---|---|
| MLA | “Kenwood Commons.” Data Center Census, Oct 21, 2026, https://datacentercensus.com/dc/kenwood-commons-albany-ny. |
| Link | https://datacentercensus.com/dc/kenwood-commons-albany-ny |
Republishing a figure or table? Attribute it to Data Center Census with a link to this page. The underlying data is downloadable as JSON and CSV; the press kit has standing figures and contact details.