Data Center Census Near me

PNK Group Wisconsin Rapids Data Center

Wisconsin Rapids, Wood County, WI

Also known as Wisconsin Rapids paper mill data center

DeniedCommon Council rejected the conditional use permit on 2026-10-20; city moratorium also in effect
  1. Rumored
  2. Proposed
  3. Approved
  4. Under construction
  5. Operating
Denied

PNK Group proposed a hyperscale data center on the former paper mill property in Wisconsin Rapids, which closed in 2020. After months of organized local opposition, the city's planning committee recommended denial over information the developer had not supplied, and the Common Council rejected the conditional use permit on October 20, 2026. The sources reviewed do not give the site's acreage, power demand or investment.

Key facts

Local decisions & site

Deciding voteWisconsin Rapids Common Council rejected PNK Group's conditional use permit for the data center on October 20, 2026 [1]
vote count not stated in the source reviewed

Figures are as stated by the cited source. Where sources disagree, each figure is shown.

Water and power

Water

Not disclosed. No source reviewed gives a water figure for this site. The Census does not estimate one.

Power

Not disclosed. No capacity or power-supply figure is on the record.

Disclosed figures only, each as the cited source states it. Many are projections or permit limits, not metered use. How data center water and power use is measured, and every disclosed figure →

Timeline

  1. City holds a public informational meeting at the library while PNK Group is still preparing a formal development plan; opponents protest outside [2]

  2. Plan Commission holds a major public hearing on the PNK proposal and votes 6-0 to begin drafting a 12-month data center moratorium that would not apply to this project [3]

  3. Common Council rejects the conditional use permit after the planning committee recommended denial for missing information [1]

Issues raised

  • A local group formed in the spring to oppose the project; the planning committee cited missing information from the developer [1]
  • The mayor said the denial gives the city time to revise its data center ordinances [1]

Issues are concerns and claims raised by the parties, officials or residents named in the cited sources. They are reported as attributed, not as findings by the Census.

Sources

  1. Wisconsin Rapids denies data center permit after months-long battle
    WLUK Fox 11 (WSAW report) · Oct 20, 2026 · news
  2. Wisconsin Rapids data center proposal sparks community tension
    WSAW · Jul 31, 2026 · news
  3. Wisconsin Rapids Planning Commission approves drafting moratorium on data centers, PNK proposal not impacted
    WAOW · Aug 10, 2026 · news

Cite this page

Last updated Oct 24, 2026. Figures may change as records are updated — include the date you retrieved them.

APAData Center Census. (2026). PNK Group Wisconsin Rapids Data Center. Retrieved from https://datacentercensus.com/dc/pnk-wisconsin-rapids-wood-county-wi
MLA“PNK Group Wisconsin Rapids Data Center.” Data Center Census, Oct 24, 2026, https://datacentercensus.com/dc/pnk-wisconsin-rapids-wood-county-wi.
Linkhttps://datacentercensus.com/dc/pnk-wisconsin-rapids-wood-county-wi

Republishing a figure or table? Attribute it to Data Center Census with a link to this page. The underlying data is downloadable as JSON and CSV; the press kit has standing figures and contact details.