Data Center Census Near me

Explainer

Erin Brockovich’s data center map, and how it compares

Text updated Sep 26, 2026 · 7 cited sources, newest dated Sep 10, 2026 · Census figures as of Sep 25, 2026

Short answer

Erin Brockovich’s map, published by Brockovich Data Center Reporting, plots major AI data centers across the U.S. and overlays the places where residents have emailed in concerns[4]; its statistics page counted 9,580 such reports from 2,423 ZIP codes as of September 10, 2026[1]. The data center pins themselves come from two open datasets, Compute Atlas and Epoch AI, plus news reporting and public filings[4], and the site says plainly that it does not list every data center in the country[4]. Its distinctive layer is the community reports. For facility counts, construction progress or the local votes behind a project, other maps answer different questions, compared below.

Disclosure: the Data Center Census publishes one of the maps compared on this page. Descriptions of the others come from their own pages, quoted in the sources below, and we have tried to state what each does well.

community reports on the Brockovich map, through Sept. 10, 2026[1]
9,580
reports when Nieman Lab wrote about the map in May 2026[2]
2,716
U.S. facilities listed by the Data Center Map directory[3]
4,767

What Erin Brockovich’s map shows

The map has two layers. The first is data centers: major AI facilities that are operating, under construction, permitted, proposed or cancelled[4]. The second is people. Pins marked “Community Reported” show information sent in by residents worried about AI data centers near them[4], and that layer has grown fast: Nieman Lab counted 2,716 reports in May 2026, when the map showed 33 operating data centers, 44 under construction and 27 proposed[2]. By September 10, the site’s own statistics page listed 9,580 reports from all 50 states and 2,423 ZIP codes[1].

The facility data is borrowed, with credit. The site says its data center locations are compiled from Compute Atlas and Epoch AI, both published under Creative Commons licenses, together with news reports and public filings[4]. It is also candid about its limits: many smaller or unannounced facilities are missing, and it is not meant as a registry of every data center[4]. It is best read as a record of where residents have spoken up, drawn over other groups’ project data.

The main public data center maps, side by side

MapWhat it coversWhere the data comes fromMost useful for
Brockovich Data Center ReportingMajor AI data centers, plus residents’ reports[4]Compute Atlas, Epoch AI, news and filings; reports from the public[4]Seeing where people have raised concerns
Compute AtlasAI, hyperscale and crypto-mining sites and the power built to supply them[5]A public source URL behind every fact[5]; open under CC BY 4.0[5]A broad, cited list of large sites to reuse
Epoch AI Frontier Data CentersConstruction and capacity of major AI data centers[6]Satellite imagery, permits and other open sources[6]; free to reuse with credit[6]Following major AI campuses as they are built, including from satellite images
Data Center MapA directory of existing facilities: 4,767 in 50 states[3]Not stated on the page we reviewedFinding operating facilities and their operators
CleanviewOperating and planned data center projects[7]Not stated on the page we reviewedA quick national picture of planned projects
Data Center CensusMajor projects with status, timeline, capacity, moratoriums, hearings and lawsuitsRecords built from filings, notices and news, with the source’s words quotedThe local decisions and fights behind each project

No single map is complete, and the Brockovich map says so directly[4]. How many data centers are in the U.S.? sets out what the official and industry counts say, and why they disagree.

Why the maps show such different numbers

They are counting different things. A directory like Data Center Map lists existing facilities, which is why its U.S. total runs into the thousands[3]. The Brockovich map and Epoch AI focus on major AI facilities[4][6]. The Census tracks major projects moving through local approval and construction, so it is much smaller and follows each one over time. A project can be on one map and not another simply because of where each draws the line, or because a newer proposal has not reached every dataset yet.

The maps also borrow from one another. Brockovich’s pins come partly from Compute Atlas and Epoch AI[4], and the Census publishes a record-by-record comparison with Compute Atlas showing where the two datasets disagree about a project’s status.

How to check what’s planned near you

Start with a map, then go to the record. The ZIP code lookup lists tracked projects near you, each linked to its status, dated timeline and sources, and the hearings calendar shows upcoming votes. Community reports on the Brockovich map are a useful signal of where residents are paying attention[4]; the county or town’s own agendas and permit filings are where a proposal becomes official. If you find a project we are missing, send it to us with a link to the filing or report.

How our records compare with Compute Atlas

When we last compared the two datasets, on Sep 22, 2026, Compute Atlas held 2,166 records. Of the 145 Census projects checked, 132 matched a Compute Atlas entry: their statuses agreed on 82 and differed on 36, and 14 had a status the other dataset has no category for. Another 13 Census projects had no match. The cross-check page lists every disagreement with both sources, so either dataset can be corrected.

The Census itself currently tracks 164 major projects in 36 states. See them on the map.

Common questions

What is Erin Brockovich’s data center map?

An online map from Brockovich Data Center Reporting that plots major AI data centers in the U.S. and overlays concerns emailed in by residents. Its data center locations come from Compute Atlas and Epoch AI, plus news reporting and public filings.

How many reports are on the Brockovich data center map?

Its statistics page listed 9,580 community reports from 2,423 ZIP codes as of September 10, 2026, up from 2,716 reports when Nieman Lab wrote about the map in May 2026.

Where does the Brockovich map get its data?

Its data center pins are compiled from Compute Atlas and Epoch AI, two datasets published under Creative Commons licenses, plus news reporting and public filings. The community pins come from reports residents submit through its form.

Is there a map of every data center in the U.S.?

Not a complete one. The Data Center Map directory lists 4,767 facilities across 50 states; the Brockovich map, Epoch AI and the Census focus on major or AI projects, and the Brockovich map says it is not a registry of every data center.

Sources

  1. Community Reports — Statistics
    Brockovich Data Center Reporting · 2026-09-10
    Source excerpt
    “9,580 Total Reports submitted through the form 50 States Represented … 2,423 Unique Zip Codes … Generated September 10, 2026 · Data through September 10, 2026”
  2. Erin Brockovich made a map to track data centers around the country
    Nieman Journalism Lab · 2026-05-26
    Source excerpt
    “shows the locations of 33 operational data centers, with 44 under construction and 27 proposed. There are also 2,716 community reports so far.”
  3. USA Data Centers - 4767 Facilities from 1900 Operators
    Data Center Map · 2026
    Source excerpt
    “We currently have 4767 data centers listed, from 50 states in USA (America).”
  4. Brockovich Data Center Reporting – U.S. AI Data Center Awareness & Issue Map
    Brockovich Data Center Reporting · 2026
    4 source excerpts
    “A map of major AI data centers across the U.S. — operational, under construction, permitted, proposed and cancelled — overlaid with locations where community members have emailed in concerns.”
    “"Community Reported" pins show data submitted by concerned residents across the US about AI data centers.”
    “Data center locations compiled from Compute Atlas and Epoch AI (both CC BY 4.0), plus news reporting and public filings.”
    “Many smaller or unannounced facilities are not listed, and this is not a registry of every data center in the country.”
  5. Methodology
    Compute Atlas · 2026
    3 source excerpts
    “Interactive US data center map and database — AI, hyperscale, and crypto-mining sites plus the power built to supply them.”
    “Every fact needs a public source URL that anyone can verify. A record cannot enter the dataset without one.”
    “Compute Atlas publishes its dataset under CC-BY-4.0, which permits redistribution”
  6. Introducing the Frontier Data Centers Hub
    Epoch AI · 2025-11-04
    2 source excerpts
    “This open database tracks the construction and capacity of major AI data centers using satellite imagery, public permits, and other open sources.”
    “Epoch AI's work is free to use, distribute, and reproduce provided the source and authors are credited under the Creative Commons Attribution license.”
  7. US Data Center Map — Project List & Tracker
    Cleanview · 2026
    Source excerpt
    “Explore operating and planned data center projects in the US.”

Each source was opened and checked against the excerpt shown. Company statements are identified as such. Figures are as published; where sources differ, each is shown.

Cite this page

Last updated Sep 25, 2026. Figures may change as records are updated — include the date you retrieved them.

APAData Center Census. (2026). Erin Brockovich’s data center map, and how it compares. Retrieved from https://datacentercensus.com/guides/data-center-maps-compared
MLA“Erin Brockovich’s data center map, and how it compares.” Data Center Census, Sep 25, 2026, https://datacentercensus.com/guides/data-center-maps-compared.
Linkhttps://datacentercensus.com/guides/data-center-maps-compared

Republishing a figure or table? Attribute it to Data Center Census with a link to this page. The underlying data is downloadable as JSON and CSV; the press kit has standing figures and contact details.